life here and now

So the problem with being busy and not having (or making) the time to blog more frequently is that tons of ideas and possibilities for posts accumulate … and I’m left with the decision of what I feel most inclined to write about (because reading something I wrote that I wasn’t at least semi passionate about is … boring … trust me). But instead of making that decision and writing something that’s all organized and thought through I’m giving you the post-it note version of a bunch of thoughts/prayers/etc. I’m not sure where this’ll lead us, but hopefully we’ll both learn something …

A prayer I wrote down on a day in my life that went from sunshine and blue skies to drenching rain. It ended with a peaceful sunset:

“God, speak truth into my heart. whisper Your promises to me. quiet all the noise that distracts me from You. Your Word is true. Your love is real. Your plan is best. Oh God,{my stomach was twisted in a knot at this point} that prayer I prayed this morning driving to work – that one where I asked that Your glory would be displayed even if it meant pain on my part ‘ … because Your glory is so much greater,’ I prayed … that prayer. I guess You took my word for it. Thanks. really. Sometimes – quite often- I need to remember that saying/knowing truth and living it are very different things. Your glory, God. Forgive me for making this hurt about me rather than You – the only One Who will/can carry me in/through/around the pain. Oh God, I’m so needy and You are so glorious.”

~

Gratitude. Receive w/ gladness. Connect with the giver {and the ultimate Giver}. Rejoice always; God is near. Count each gift. We are standing in grace.

Generosity. Come to serve and give your life. See needs; meet needs. Live as if everything {even your life} is not your own, but a gift from the Giver {that’s the grace-filled reality}. Use your stuff the way the Give would.

Dependence. Accepting others’ offer to help. Allowing your needs to be known so God’s people can do God’s work. It’s not godly/God honoring to do it all on your own; each has his own gift and responsibilities. God created us for community. Jesus allowed Himself to become dependent on His creation; allow yourself to depend on God through His creation.

~

I’m not the only one. I’m the only one who at times she’s groping in a thick smoke for answers and direction and relief. And there is a way out of this waiting room. Be thankful in the present. Now is a gift.

~

When deciding how to prioritize my time stop looking around and start looking up. they all have different goals. I can’t plan my day and prioritize my time according to their standards. What would matter most to the person God wants me to become? Make that a priority.

~

I see them everyday. people God died to save. stories hide behind each of the faces around me. struggles and victories and fears and questions and dreams. no exception.

“If you look me right in the eye
Would you see the real me inside
Would you take the time to

Tell me what I need to hear
Tell me that I’m not forgotten
Show me there’s a God
Who can be more than all I’ve ever wanted
‘Cause right now I need a little hope
I need to know that I’m not alone
Maybe God is calling you tonight
To tell me something
That might save my life.”

~ Sidewalk Prophets, Save My Life

Maybe our problem is that we’re too afraid, too busy, too focused on my agenda, too judgmental, too naïve, too centered on our “needs” that we forget/ignore them. most people put themselves together enough they look like there doing ok, unless we take the time to ask and listen and hear their story. unless we take the time/risk looking them in the eye. let God use you. be His ears. be His mouth.


2 thoughts on “life here and now

Leave a comment