Always Before Me

I get distracted. A lot. Distracted from what really matters.  I loose perspective. Sometimes it happens unintentionally. After all, life is full of distractions. But if I’m honest with myself I would have to admit that there are times when I knowingly allow myself to lower my gaze from my Lord.

Why? I think at there very bottom of  my shift in perspective is that I think God’s holding back good things from me so I look other places to find satisfaction and purpose.  My distraction is usually trying to earn other people’s approval and acceptance. It comes in different forms, but it usually boils down to that.

Practical example:  I love being active and getting fit {not a bad thing}. I try to make goals for myself and find ways to stay motivated {still not a bad thing}. I sometimes motivate myself by thinking, “If I do this, I’ll look like this, and I’ll get attention/be accepted/be more valuable” {BAD thing}. And this isn’t just a bad thing … in the long run this doesn’t work. I don’t meet my goal or get the attention … or it just doesn’t last.

This really hurts {being this honest with you as well as being in that situation}. But we need to be reminded of the truth {reality} often if we’re going to embrace it. At least I do. The truth is when I look to anyone or anything besides Christ to ultimately determine my worth and give me satisfaction, I will be left with a gnawing emptiness and insecurity. Always.

The truth also is that when I run after Christ and what He desires for me, I will have everything that’s good for me. Psalm 23:1 says “The Lord is my shepherd, I have all that I need”(NLT). There is an infinite whole inside of me that only an infinite God can fill. “I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure,” David says in Psalm 16:8-9 (NIV). I need to keep my eyes on Christ to “rest secure.” To be confident. To know who I truly am.

I’d be interested in hearing how you keep your focus on what really matters throughout the day. Lately I’ve been realizing how much music that focuses on praising God helps me keep my perspective. Here’s a favorite song that’s never going to grow old to me. I hope listening to it helps direct your gaze up to Christ.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WDotJm6Qrc0

Leave a Reply

