My Crutch

I heard this song for the  first time last fall. It grabbed my attention. Sadly, sitting in the car to listen to a new song probably wouldn’t have been a legitimate excuse for missing class. So I missed the last part of the song instead. Later, I found it on (where else) YouTube. I listened to it. Hit replay. Hit replay again. Honestly, I don’t remember how many times I listened to Laura Story’s song that evening. Something about the message in this song gave me a sense of relief. Of letting go. I am needy … and that’s ok. God is my crutch … and there’s so much freedom in that place.

The other night that song, my plans for this post, my favorite war story in the Old Testament, and what I was dealing with at that moment connected. The war story is about King Jehoshaphat and is told in 2 Chronicles 20:1-30. The whole thing is beautiful, but my favorite part is the summary of Jehoshaphat’s humble plea to God to rescue Judah from its enemies. In verse 12 he cries out, “O our God, won’t you stop them? We are powerless against this mighty army that is about to attack us. We do not know what to do, but we are looking to you for help” (NLT). I am needy and I am powerless and I don’t know what to do … accept to look to God for help.

That’s what came together that night when I was facing temptation. And there was so much freedom and relief in knowing I couldn’t face my enemy alone, but that in my complete weakness, God was offering to be my strength. What God told Paul, He says to us too, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness” (2 Cor. 12:9, NIV). I am needy. I am weak. I am powerless. And I don’t know what to do … accept to look to Christ to be my help, my strength … to be my God.

It’s not unhealthy for us to admit we’re needy. It’s unhealthy to ditch our Crutch and walk around on our own broken legs. But we do this all the time. I do this all the time. I fail to lift my eyes and look to God for help.

God, be my Healer.

2 thoughts on “My Crutch

  1. I really like that song; it has a great message. Your post reminded me of a quote I read In The Bride Wore White by Dannah Gresh: “God is sovereign. He is enough.”

Leave a Reply

