Who’s Made for Whom

God does not exist to satisfy us.

Let that sink in.

I forget this all the time. So I’m writing this for myself as much as for you.While I know that in God I can find satisfaction, I’m also learning my satisfaction is not His main goal.

In Isaiah 43 God gives us our identity and purpose. In the first seven verses He tells us that He is the One Who “created” and “formed” us. He says He called us each by name and made us His own. He reassures us  that we have no reason to fear because He is with us. He tenderly says to us, “‘… you are precious in my eyes, and honored, and I love you …'” ( verse 4, ESV).

And then He tells us His purpose for making us. He says, “‘I will gather … everyone who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory, whom I formed and made'” (verses 5, 7, ESV). Usually, I stop reading at this verse. This is enough to amaze me.

But God doesn’t stop there. He goes on to confirm that He alone is God. He alone can save us. He hints at the coming Savior Who will satisfy our deepest thirst. Here God promises that this Savior will, “‘…give drink to my chosen people, the people whom I formed for myself that they might declare my praise'” (verse 20b-21, ESV). Christ came to save us that we would praise Him.

God continues. He tells us how we haven’t called out to Him. How we’ve grown tired of Him. How we haven’t honored Him with a life lived as a sacrifice to Him. He says that our sins have “burdened” and “wearied” Him. Yet He says, “‘ I, I am he who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins'” (verse 25, ESV). God forgave us “for [his] own sake.”

We were created for God {and are helpless without Him}.

We are saved for God {and are lost without Him}.

We are forgiven for God {and are guilty without Him}.

Our identity is found in Christ. He loves us with a holy and pure love. He is more than enough to satisfy us, but His main goal isn’t for us to be satisfied, but for Him to be glorified. When we each choose to live today … this moment … in a way that brings honor and praise to His Name {the way we were made to live} we find purpose and satisfaction.

“The reason God seeks our praise is not because He won’t be fully God until He gets it, but we won’t be happy until we give it.”  ~John Piper

 

Leave a Reply

