Here it Goes

We’re all motivated by something. We all value something. We each are driven by something. We each worship something. We can’t escape it. We were made to worship. To run hard after something. Or Someone.

There’s times when I kind of just go through the motions of being a Christian. I get distracted. Even though I still do all outward “duties” of being Christian, I’m not getting anywhere because my heart’s not there.

During one of those times I heard Bebo Norman’s song “Here Goes” and it really spoke to me. These two simple lines in particular stuck out:  “Gotta reach for something/Or you’ll fall for anything.”

If I’m not putting effort into my relationship with God I am going to fall for anything. That’s a fact. But more than that, if the God of the universe values a peace-filled, intimate relationship with me {His rebellious, defiant little creation} enough to give His Son the punishment I deserve … shouldn’t I prize that relationship more than anything else? Shouldn’t growing in that love relationship with my Creator and Savior be what I chase after in life?

“Remember that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize. You also must run in such a way that you will win. All athletes practice strict self-control. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run straight to the goal with purpose in every step.” NLT  1 Cor. 8:24-26

I want this to be what drives me … knowing God. Not just knowing about Him. Not just going through the motions. Growing closer to Him. He is worthy. He is my prize.

“You make known to me the path of life;
in your presence there is fullness of joy;
at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”
ESV Psalm 16:11

Leave a Reply

