Even if … He remains

I am – in general – the type of person who likes to have a routine. to plan. to have structure to my day.

Yet I’m terribly inconsistent. My dreams, habits, feelings, perspective … all change. And so do the people around me. And so do the circumstances I find myself in.

In fact, there’s such consistency to our inconsistency, that I’m beginning to realize that I need something a little steadier to hold onto. Maybe that need for structure and control and ability to rely on something firm can’t ultimately be found in planning my day or looking to people for purpose.

Maybe it can only be found in the One Who will never change. Who is faithful. Who has no bad side. Who is holy. Who holds it all in His hands. Who is all-powerful.

Do not be deceived, my beloved brothers. Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” ESV James 1:16-17

“Even if the healing doesn’t come
And life falls apart
And dreams are still undone
You are God You are good
Forever faithful One
Even if the healing
Even if the healing doesn’t come.”

~Even If, Kutless

Leave a Reply

