What If

The other day when I went into the locker room at the gym to grab my stuff before I left, I had a short conversation with a lady there. I can’t shake it off. She was sitting by the locker that had my bag in it. She was older and overweight. Her large bag and the rest of her things were cluttering the bench in front of my locker. I told her I needed to grab my bag from the locker right beside her. She seemed very cheerful and scooted over for me.

“I could move to the other side,” she said smiling.

“No, that’s fine. I just need to get my things quick.”

“Wow, you’re low maintenance,” she said as I pulled out my bag (small in comparison to hers’).

“I’m just going home,” I explained, smiling at her comment. I always find people who easily start conversations with strangers interesting and amusing.

“Well, you’ll look good no matter what you do,” she reassuringly. I smiled. A little laugh may have escaped. I might have said a thanks. She wished me a good day and I left.

That’s it.

Yet when I was driving home I couldn’t help but wonder “what if.” What if I had told her that no matter what she’d do she’d be beautiful too. Would she have laughed? Pushed away the compliment?

What if I asked her if she believed beauty was more than skin deep? if there’s such a thing as inner beauty?

What if I viewed people and talked to people and treated people like God valued them and desired a love relationship with them so much that He gave His Son to die in their place?

What if I was willing to go out of my comfort zone and risk embarrassing myself to show God’s love for other people?

5 thoughts on “What If

  1. Now you will be ready the next time something like this happens. Don’t let this experience pull you down because of “what if”, but view this experience as training. When you train, you do the same things over and over again and as you do it becomes easier, more comfortable and will become natural. God is training you in this area (getting out of your comfort zone) and with Him as your trainer you will be able to do this!

    1. Thanks! That’s what I had to remind myself of when I was driving home. I guess the first step of changing is simply recognizing a change needs to be made.

      1. I also thought like all good trainers, God teaches you and encourages you. But He is even better than earthly trainers because God will also give you the strength to do it!

Leave a Reply

