He Loved Me

There’s something in all of us that wants to be noticed. appreciated. understood. valued. praised. and … loved. I believe God put those desires there so that we would look for Him. But He also knew that we’d get distracted in our search for Him. He knew we might settle for something less than Him. He went to great lengths to display His love for us.

Something so beautiful yet so challenging about the lives of those who are called Gods’ children is found in Galatians 2:20.

“My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (NLT)

That’s so personal. He loves me. He showed His boundless love by giving Himself for me. This love is supposed to consume me. When people see how I live they should see Christ.

“Christ’s love controls us. Since we believe that Christ died for all, we also believe that we have all died to our old life. He died for everyone so that those who receive his new life will no longer live for themselves. Instead, they will live for Christ, who died and was raised for them.” (NLT) 2 Corinthians 5:14-15

Christ’s love for me should control how I live my new life. It’s not about me anymore. not about being accepted by others. not about meeting everyone’s expectations. not about getting the attention. not about being understood. not about being labeled as beautiful.

Those things aren’t bad in themselves. It’s only wrong when I let them be my main source of motivation. When they {rather than Christ’s love} control me.

His love for me should initiate a response of a life lived out of love for Him. This life is His. My life should be a story with Christ as the main character. He is the Hero. He is the King. He is the Lover. He is the beautiful One.

God, don’t let me be distracted. Don’t let me be a distraction. Don’t let me settle for anything less than Your boundless love. I want to be captivated by it. I want it to control me. Your love will never run dry. It will never grow old. There will always be another facet to explore. There will always be more depth to rest in.

“And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love,  may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” (NIV) Ephesians 3:17-21

2 thoughts on “He Loved Me

Leave a Reply

