True Thoughts

There’s so many things that I know aren’t true, but if I take a look at my life and my thoughts I can tell I still believe them. Lies like: I determine my value. What I accomplish determines my worth. There’s this perfect body out there that’s gonna make me happy. I need to meet everyone’s standards and expectations. Need I go on?

Or vice versa. There’s  things that I know are true, yet I don’t full-heartedly believe. Truths like: I will never be any more or less valuable than I am now. Nothing I do will change my worth or cause God to love me more or less. God’s love for me is as real on the worst days as it is on the best. God will give me every good thing. God alone satisfies.

What I repeat to myself over and over again, I will begin to believe. what I hear. what I read. what I see. The messages I allow into my life will affect me. Even if I know they’re not true, they will shape the way I think. I may believe them even if I know they’re lies.

“We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God,

and take every thought captive to obey Christ.”

(ESV) 2 Corinthians 10:5

Every thought. That’s a pretty high expectation. But God never tells us to do something without providing the means to do it. And if I want to get rid of the lies I’ve allowed myself to believe and to embrace truth, I can’t be afraid of taking the necessary steps … even if they seem rather drastic. I can’t only pray to God to help me let go of the lies and then go on living like I was before (though I wish it was that easy). I need to actually turn my eyes away from the lies and actively pursue truth.

I need to search for truth. read truth. listen to truth. repeat truth over and over again to myself. And then I will begin to believe truth.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just,

whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence,

if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things,

and the God of peace will be with you.”

(ESV) Philippians 4:8-9

Leave a Reply

