It’s Overwhelming

So many times I catch myself stressing over what I think other people think of me. I read into what they say and do. I question the sincerity of their compliments {or assume that since they’re not complimenting me they must be thinking negatively of me}.

But the thing is, they don’t know me that well … at all. Why would I let other people’s flawed perception of me {or worse yet what I think other people think of me} affect how I rate my day or shape how I view myself?

My worth is fixed FOREVER. It was determined by the One Who “examined my heart and [knows] everything about me” (Psalm 139:1, NLT). He knows me completely. I don’t even know myself that well. So I don’t have the right to tamper with the price-tag God put on me … and the truth is I can’t. It’s written on Christ’s hands. It sounds so crazy. so wrong. but the scars on the Son of God’s hands shout “you are precious to me. You are honored, and I love you,” (Isaiah 43:4, NLT).

That’s overwhelming. overwhelming sacrifice. overwhelming love. overwhelming beauty.

“How precious are your thoughts about me, O God,”

(Psalm 139: 17a, NLT)

Rather than worrying about others thoughts of me, I want to dwell on God’s thoughts of me. How He sees me. How He values me.

“Search me, O God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.
 Point out anything in me that offends you,
    and lead me along the path of everlasting life.”

(Psalm 139:23-24, NLT)

I am completely known and completely loved by this crazy God. That’s overwhelming.

“… he knows me. I am graven on the palms of his hands. I am never out of his mind … He knows me as a friend, one who loves me; and there is no moment when his eye is off me, or his attention distracted from me, and no moment, therefore, when his care falters.”

~ Knowing God, J. I. Packer

 

Leave a Reply

