sweet freedom

Have you ever sweated away for something that was given to you yesterday? studied for a good grade on a test you received last period? asked your boss for a raise you got last week?

Yeah, I hope not. It’s like short-term memory or something.

But apparently my memory isn’t all that clear either. ‘Cause I fight battles already won. I sweat away to earn honors I’ve already been given. I work hard to be worthy. acceptable. beautiful. I feel guilty for my shortcomings when I should be rejoicing over the grace of God that fills my life.

“Lord I falter
And I fall down,
Then I hold on
To the chains You broke
When You came and
Saved my soul
Saved my soul.

Hallelujah, we are free to struggle
We’re not struggling to be free
Your blood bought and makes us children
Children drop your chains and sing. “

~ The Struggle, Tenth Avenue North

I wanna let go of the guilt. get my eyes off my old self. throw out my worries. be ok with not meeting the 5.2 million expectations people have for me.

I wanna identify myself with who I am in Christ. forgiven. loved. accepted. beautiful. And I wanna sing of that sweet freedom.

 

Leave a Reply

