heal my heart

So I love the fact that God doesn’t treat us like one dimensional beings. He formed both our bodies and souls. As our Creator, He knows how the different aspects that make up us are connected.  He knows how we work and knows what’s best and healthiest for us. He is the One Who heals. And He gives us both commands and advice in His Word of how to experience that healing. Through Solomon He gives this command:

“Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom.
    Instead, fear the Lord and turn away from evil.
 Then you will have healing for your body
    and strength for your bones.”

Proverbs 3:7-8 (NLT)

As much as my heart cringes when I read those words, I also know that it’s true. I find it amusing (and sometimes annoying) when four year olds think they’re geniuses. They think they know better than people eight times their age – I mean look at that impressive resume they’ve built up over the past four years. My Creator knows what’s best for me. {He has lived a lot longer than me too}. God’s commands – when obeyed –  often lead to a healthier life and they’re always best. I’ve gotta trust Him … even when I think I know better.

“My child, pay attention to what I say.
    Listen carefully to my words.
 Don’t lose sight of them.
    Let them penetrate deep into your heart,
 for they bring life to those who find them,
    and healing to their whole body.”

Proverbs 4:20-22 (NLT)

I can’t obey what I don’t know. God’s Word is Truth. Soaking in it brings healing.

“A peaceful heart leads to a healthy body;
    jealousy is like cancer in the bones.

Proverbs 14:30 (NLT)

I wanna be the type of person who can rejoice with others when they succeed. I wanna be excited for those who get what I want. This isn’t about me anyway. When I live this out, my body will become stronger.

“A cheerful heart is good medicine,
    but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength.

Proverbs 17:22 (NLT)

I don’t think Solomon’s talking about plastering a smile on your face and hiding your struggles behind laughter. This is about perspective. The God Who paid the ultimate price for me  and has been faithful in the past will give me every good thing and will continue to prove Himself faithful in the future. I can rejoice in His grace in the ups and downs of life.

God doesn’t just give us rules to obey because He likes seeing His creation struggle to obey them. They’re about Him receiving praise and honor. But I’m continually amazed that the things that give God glory are also {ultimately} good for us too. God is our Healer. He brings healing to our broken bodies and souls.

Leave a Reply

