heal my heart {part 2}

Ever heard a new song that seemed to reach out, touch you heart, and say “listen”? Ever hit replay a half dozen times? Ever just closed your eyes and tried to soak in the music?

In my last post I mentioned that soaking in God’s Word (His truth) brings healing. I need to, “Let [His words] penetrate deep into [my] heart, for they bring life to those who find them, and healing to their whole body,” (Proverbs 4:21a-22, NLT). Words are powerful. I’m realizing what I say  can really affect how I think and what I believe. If I want healing I need to be speaking God’s Truth. I want to learn how to apply God’s truth to ever day life, and have the courage to speak truth and love into other people’s lives.

God provides some advice on how I can use my words to bring healing …

“Some people make cutting remarks,
    but the words of the wise bring healing.

Proverbs 12:18 (NLT)

My words have the power to harm or heal. I need God’s wisdom {not the culture’s wisdom or my own} to “bring healing.”

“An unreliable messenger stumbles into trouble,
    but a reliable messenger brings healing.

Proverbs 13:17 (NLT)

I need to speak truth. Ummm … that’s sometimes really hard for me to do. I want to please everyone and sometimes that gets in the way of being honest. But, in the end, truth is the best thing for the person I’m talking to to hear … and the best thing for me to speak.

“Kind words are like honey—
    sweet to the soul and healthy for the body.

Proverbs 16:24 (NLT)

Ok, so, sort of random fact, honey is good at cleansing and nourishing skin {I  often use honey as a facewash}.  My words should be cleansing and nourishing too.  Kind words are the ones that are truthful and loving in order to cleanse and nourish the listener {and ever notice, when your speaking, you’re listening too!} . I think the definition of “kind words” can change a lot between different people and situations. Sensitivity and empathy is much needed!

The only way I can speak wise, truthful, kind words is if my hearts been changed. if it’s been {and is being} healed by the Great Physician … the Healer. I need to be willing and intentional to allow His Word to penetrate my heart. Words are powerful. They can harm or heal. God’s Word heals. Speak it.

Leave a Reply

