Enjoy!

God had a very good reason for limiting us to the present.

God is in the past and future just as much as He is in the present … but I’m here. now.

The problem is I sometimes forget that … I mean, sometimes I get so caught up in the future. worrying. wishing. dreaming. I worry about what my future  {even just tomorrow} holds. I wish problems in my life would dissolve. I dream about some magical day when I’ll be satisfied with how I look and what I do and just life in general. To some extent I think that’s ok, but I tend to go a little overboard sometimes. I sometimes worry so much about things in the future which I can’t do anything about that I miss out on the now. And God wants me to enjoy now.

Enjoy what you have [present tense, so what you have now] rather than desiring what you don’t have.

Ecclesiastes 6:9a (NLT)

I should find enjoyment in where I am now. what I’m doing now. who I’m with now. I should be able to find things I like about what I do. who I spend time with . who I am … now.

But sometimes my focus swings like a pendulum from being obsessed with the future to being obsessed with the present. And the present isn’t the whole story either.

 Young people, it’s wonderful to be young! Enjoy every minute of it. Do everything you want to do; take it all in. But remember that you must give an account to God for everything you do.  So refuse to worry, and keep your body healthy. But remember that youth, with a whole life before you, is meaningless.

Ecclesiastes 11:9-10 (NLT)

God wants me to enjoy now, but He doesn’t want me to regret it in the future. He wants me to have a good future too. He sees it. He knows how cause and effects work. I should enjoy now, while still keeping the big picture in view … or else enjoying now is pointless.

So I decided there is nothing better than to enjoy food and drink and to find satisfaction in work. Then I realized that these pleasures are from the hand of God. For who can eat or enjoy anything apart from him?

Ecclesiastes 2:24-25 (NLT)

My ability to enjoy life comes from God. It’s a gift. I can only see the big picture … the point of it all … through Him. God made me so that praise and honor would be given to Him (Isaiah 43:7). That’s the big picture. That’s  where satisfaction’s found. I need to give God the credit. praise Him for the work He is doing. thank Him for the blessing that surround me. trust Him when I don’t see where He is going with this. rejoice in all He has done to prove His love for me.

Worries about the future can fade and enjoyment in the present can have purpose. I can truly enjoy now when I’m living to point others’ gaze {and my own} toward God.

2 thoughts on “Enjoy!

  1. This is something I’ve been thinking about lately as well. I tend to worry about the future or dwell on past occurrences. However, this tendency takes me away from what I could be doing, right now. I like your point that it is healthy to look to the future, while being grounded in the present. I think God wants us to use our time wisely in the present and anticipate the future, trusting that he will take care of us.

Leave a Reply

