holy and blameless

Burnout and exhaustion can come to anyone. There’s times when I want to scream that this thing called life is not working. Sometimes I lose hope that there’s anything I can do that’s of value … what’s the point of this all? The next time I come to that point I don’t want to be afraid to come to the end of myself. I want to view it as a chance for God to become more real to me. For Him to be my sure hope.

 For God in all his fullness {layers upon infinite layers of glory} 
    was pleased to live in Christ, {God-made-man}
 and through him God reconciled {brought near, restored a healthy relationship with}
    everything to himself.
He made peace with everything in heaven and on earth {one of God’s ultimate goals}
    by means of Christ’s blood on the cross {a cost I’ll never fully comprehend}.

This includes you who were once far away from God {that is … all of us}. You were his enemies {even if you were considered a “good” person}, separated from him by your evil thoughts and actions. Yet now he has reconciled you {forgivingly brought you near} to himself through the death of Christ in his physical body {to pay the debt for your disobedience}. As a result {of Christ Himself dealing with your sin}, he has brought you into his own {holy, glorious} presence, and you are holy {set apart for God} and blameless {innocent} as you stand before him {Creator, Savior, Judge, Lord} without a single fault.

But you must continue to believe {trust} this truth {Christ has paid the penalty for your sin; you are blameless in His eyes} and stand firmly in it. Don’t drift away from the assurance {sure hope} you received when you heard the Good News {the Gospel of Christ}.   

Colossians 1:19-23a (NLT)

In Christ I am pure. In Him what I do has purpose. He is my Good News. He is my sure hope. Always.

Leave a Reply

