a good day

I once heard that after every workout you should think of at least one thing that went well. You felt good running. pushed yourself through those last shaky squats. succeeded at trying something new …

I usually do this whether I intentionally try to or not. While stretching. eating a post-workout snack. driving home from the gym. I usually somewhat review my workout and find pride in whatever I accomplished.

Sometimes it takes more effort than others to find what actually when “well.” But it’s interesting … a workout I initially felt was a waste of time can become one that was at least partially successful at meeting my goals if I look hard enough. And the new exercise that didn’t work or the modifications I had to make because of lack of equipment … well I learned something from those things too {it just might be not to do it again!}.

Maybe I should start doing this more often with my day. What if instead of going to bed with the unsatisfying or even depressing feeling that today was a waste {I didn’t get those things done; I embarrassed myself big time; I just didn’t feel good} I made it a point to list a few things that did turn out “well”? Or what if instead of becoming discouraged or bitter about how God made me {my personality and appearance} and where He has me now I  thanked Him for His beautiful design and the blessings He has surrounded me with.

And what if those things that bothered me about today/myself/my circumstances were actually the means for God to give me something good … something better than what I can see right now.

Then today really was a good day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

