Call Her Beautiful

A few weeks ago I stumbled on this blog post. It kind of validated and summarized my perspective on body image/appearance. I had this “how did you know?” feeling come over me as I began to read. It’s like Heather Kelly knew that my idea of an ideal body changes with the people I’m surrounded by. It’s like she knew I want to be feel strong and powerful when I do physically demanding work and yet later want to slip on some “model thin” legs with a pair of skinny jeans. It’s like she knew that it’s hard for my fitness-geeky-self to know how I’m supposed to train my body when there’s so many different versions of perfection.

And then I remembered.

I’m not alone.

I’m not the only one surrounded by countless different versions of perfect. I’m not the only one confused.

And that was a comforting thought.

Instead of restating what this short and sweet blog post said, I encourage you to read it. And than I’ll add just one more thing…

Knowing how you want to look and working towards it is ok.

Knowing what you want to do and working towards it is better.

Knowing who/how you can  better serve and working towards that is … what is that? How would a person who cares for her body so she can serve, encourage, and give to others and honor God more fully be described?

Ummm … I’d call her beautiful.

Leave a Reply

