take the risk

The riskiest thing I can do is be myself being like Christ. living for Christ in my own unique way. taking the risk of not meeting everyone’s expectations. taking the risk of looking insane or like a failure in order to fill the spot God has for me.

I am called to live for Christ and live like Christ, but in my own way.

“For as in one body we have many members, and the members do not all have the same function, so we, though many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another. Having gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, let us use them …” Romans 12: 4-6b, ESV

I was not made to be a mirror image of another person (even a godly person). I shouldn’t be copying all their life decisions.  I am not them and was never supposed to be. God made me who I am and placed me where I am. I need to take advice knowing that there’ll be times when I need to throw some of it away.  Truth is true 100% of the time, but it look’ll different lived out in my life than it does in theirs.

My worth is connected to something far more secure than what I do with my future, what others think about my choices, or how I feel about myself.

From that perspective being myself being like Christ isn’t all that risky in the long run. God’s love for me far outweighs any criticism I receive or any feelings of doubt I experience about the choices I make in life.

Maybe taking the risk and being who God made me in Christ is the most fulfilling way I can live my life.

{and you know what, let’s just forget the “maybe”}.

 

Leave a Reply

