the things i can’t see

For the past week or so I’ve been soaking in a couple of Scripture passages in particular …

“I {my old self that – sometimes – tried and – always – failed to please God} have been crucified with Christ {God no longer looks on my old self}.  It is no longer I who live {when God looks at me He doesn’t see my sinfulness and rebellion but }, but Christ who lives in me {Christ is Who God sees}. And the life I now live in the flesh {in the here and now} I live by faith {trust in something/Someone intangible} in the Son of God {the One Who has all power and has proven His love for me}, who loved me and gave himself for me {the ultimate act of love}.”  Galatians 2:20, ESV

“So we do not lose heart {we don’t lose courage or hope because …}. Though our outer self  {the seen} is wasting away, our inner self {the unseen} is being renewed {made new by God} day by day. For this light momentary affliction {no matter how overwhelming and never-ending it may seem} is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison {pain with a purpose; emptying us of that old self to fill us up with glory}, as we look not to the things that are seen {outer self and all that comes with it … status, possessions, accomplishments}  but to the things that are unseen {God’s glory; the truth that Christ “loved me and gave himself for me”}. For the things that are seen are transient {they’re short-lived} , but the things that are unseen are eternal {these things – God, what He is done for me, and is doing in me … are forever}  Corinthians 4:16-18, ESV

Rather than getting caught up in all the tangible things in the here and now or focusing on that that old self that is still trying to stick around, my faith and my attention should be “in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” I’m not called to move on from the place of surrendering these things to God. I was never meant to leave that place. I was meant to stay bowed at His feet in awe of Him.

And maybe that means never turning my  attention from His grace and mercy to what I need to do to fix myself. Maybe the “fixing” happens when I stop looking at the problems alone. Even though I’m living “life in the flesh” I’m not meant to put my faith in “the flesh.” I’m meant to put my faith in and fix my attention on the One Who “loved me and gave himself for me.” on the One that’s more real than anything I can see or touch. on the One that will never end … and the love that will never end.

Leave a Reply

