Whatever it is you do …

Being reminded again that what I do isn’t near as important as who I do it for. Because it’s hard to give a succinct answer as to what I do. Because it’s easy to get discouraged and feel that I’m getting no where. that this isn’t how I planned it. that the feeling of success I thought I’d feel by now, feels just as far away as before. that I haven’t satisfied the perfectionist in me.

And I’ll just stop there ’cause I think you know what I mean. I think you’ve felt it too.

What’s been an encouragement to me – what I wish would truly believe – is that there is purpose here and now. God’s given me a mission for this moment – and it’s not worrying about how soon I can get that sense of success.

“Bondservants, obey in everything those who are your earthly masters, not by way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord. 23 Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, 24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ. 25 For the wrongdoer will be paid back for the wrong he has done, and there is no partiality.”    [emphasis mine]  Colossians 3:22-25, ESV

Whatever it is I’m doing, it has a purpose to honor the God Who made me. It not so much what I do as who I fear. Living in fear of people – being a people-pleaser – means I’m going to live in constant insecurity because of the ever changing opinions of people. Living in fear of God means I’m going to live in the security of the One Who never changes.

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever  you do, do all to the glory of God.”  [emphasis mine] 1 Corinthians 10:31, ESV

It’s wonderful how when I look at those verses I’ve seen countless times and really begin to look at what it means in my life they become so much more precious. I can eat and glorify God. I can drink and walk and work and read and sleep and write and talk and pray and sing and bake … and live out my calling doing it. During that mundane and routine and endless, I can live out my calling. I can fulfill my purpose. I can make God’s Name big.

God didn’t make me just to do the big stuff or to feel successful. He made me to bring glory to Him whatever it is I’m doing.

2 thoughts on “Whatever it is you do …

  1. I was just rereading this post. It really applied to my thoughts and feelings at this moment. It seems like I need to be reminded of simple truths over and over again. Thank goodness God never gives up on us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

