Worthy

a year ago I published my first entry on this blog.

it kind of feels like I’m back where I started. like I’ve made a full circle.

still surrounded by question marks … with just a few more answers. still got this ache in my heart – only in a slightly different place. and still learning what it means to be loved by my Heavenly Father.

I realized the other day that my first blog post was me putting into black and white this idea. this belief about self-worth and self-esteem.

and my last entry was about this thing they call self-love.

and, you know what, my conclusions were the same: the answer to the questions of worth and love are not found in self. No matter how deep you look you won’t find wholeness in your own emptiness. you won’t find worthiness by searching through your own unworthiness. but left to self that’s all we’ve got.

you and I can’t really find self-worth until we face the overwhelming truth that the only One Who is worthy poured His worth into us.

So, yeah, this heart might still be filled with questions and insecurities, but then the One Who made me worthy reminds me He’s already done the most costly thing in giving me immeasurable worth. He won’t leave me now.

He reminds me how He’s been faithful (even when I wasn’t). how He gave me strength to finish the day (even when I thought I couldn’t). how He showed me He both knows and loves me fully (even when I didn’t feel that was possible).

and He’s holding this next year. and He’s holding me.

He gave His all to make me forever worthy. and He is forever worthy of my all.

2 thoughts on “Worthy

  1. This is a beautiful, honest post! Psalm 56 has really been an inspiration to me as I remember (like you said) that worth and love are not found in self – or in other people. It’s a constant turning back to God for sustaining grace.
    Aren’t these verses golden? “This I know, that God is for me. In God, whose word I praise, in the Lord, whose word I praise, in God I trust: I shall not be afraid. What can mere man do to me?”

Leave a Reply

