more-than-conqueror

Because maybe I don’t have to get past this to be an overcomer. to be free.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36 As it is written:

‘For your sake we face death all day long;
    we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.’

37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:35-39, NIV (emphasis mine)

I am a more-than-conqueror in the midst of this because nothing will separate me from the love of God. because His life. His light. is stronger than all darkness.

 In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” John 1:4,5, NIV (emphasis mine)

I am a more-than-conqueror in the darkness because Christ’s light. life. is in me. because He loves me I don’t need to let darkness. evil. overcome me. because in Him I am an overcomer.

“Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.” Romans 12:21, NIV (emphasis mine)

I am a more-than-conqueror in the midst of this because Christ’s light. life. love. are more powerful than my sins. my fears. my enemies. my mountains.

I can live right now as a more-than-conqueror. as an overcomer. I can live right now in freedom because He promised me this:

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33, NIV

“We are more than conquerors
We don’t have to be afraid
Nothing is as powerful
As His love…

It’s the life and the hope that He brings
His forgiveness that leads us to sing

We are free to love
Like our God has loved
We are free to give like He gave

We are free from sin
We are free to begin
To forgive as He forgave
We are free.”

~Aaron Shust, We Are Free

Leave a Reply

