What I learned from “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”

Me, two months ago:

#1. I don’t like this movie.

This girl is going downhill fast. Can we watch something more uplifting? 

#2. I love this movie.

Um … Audrey Hepburn.

~~~

But for real, the “I want to figure people out” part of me took as much in as she could about this strange girl searching for who she is and running from anything that might hold her down.

And the last scene was like a bucket of cold water in my face.

Because, in my own church-girl kind of way, that was me in the taxi cab.

So maybe a couple months ago I was there in the taxi cab trying to find out who I was and wanting to run from anything that would hold me down. Afraid that Love Himself would cage me in and smother my dreams and freedom with His rules and demands.

But the thing is, when I withdraw. when I focus on myself. when I don’t want to be inconvenienced or tied down … I’m making myself my own cage.

because I can’t get past me.

“You call yourself a free spirit, a wild thing, and you’re afraid somebody’s gonna stick you in a cage. Well, baby, your already in that cage. You built it yourself. And it’s not bound in the West by Tulip, Texas, or in the East by Somali-land. It’s wherever you go. Because no matter where you run, you just end up running into yourself.”

And, real honest? Writing this now when life is good, makes me realize maybe I’m in that taxi cab again. Just now I’m saying “I’ve got it together. I’m on the right track toward figuring out who I am. Thanks, God. Now I’m going to put You on the back burner now so that I can focus on finding my full potential. I’ll let You know if I need any help with that.”

But God is not a tool to make me appear put together. And His love isn’t a tool to just unlock me from the cage I built.

because God’s unconditional, boundless love enters and turns everything I know on it’s head.

For the love of Christ controls us, because we have concluded this: that one has died for all, therefore all have died; 15 and he died for all, that those who live might no longer live for themselves but for him who for their sake died and was raised.16 From now on, therefore, we regard no one according to the flesh. Even though we once regarded Christ according to the flesh, we regard him thus no longer. ” 2 Corinthians 5:14 -17, ESV

Because Love went through intense suffering to get  to me. to set me free. there’s no putting Him on the back burner.

“For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery [trying to earn the freedom and love we’ve already been given] …13 For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh [for self-advancement … i. e. self-encagement] , but through love serve one another. 14 For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.'” Galations 5:1,13,14, ESV

His love doesn’t encage. His love sets free. sets free to freely love.

Leave a Reply

