explaining vulnerability to the 2nd grader in me

because this word, vulnerability, has meandered in and taken up a room in my mind. and so I’ve got to figure this thing out.

and because maybe we only know as much as the 2nd grader in us.

and so we’ll take this slow

Just a word of caution, if you have issues with having songs from the Disney movie that added another dictionary definition to the word “frozen” … just realize you’ve been warned.

So go ahead. Use this as an excuse for the 2nd grader in you to watch the movie again.

Or at least listen to “For the First Time in Forever.”

Vulnerability opens the gates. It allows yourself to be seen and exposed to everything wonderful and horrible. It’s being without protection.

It’s risking your physical and emotional well-being. risking being overlooked. risking being noticed. risking being judged wrongfully. risking judged accurately. risking being turned down. risking being accepted. risking being laughed at. risking being loved.

This is Anna. vulnerable. even “unhealthfully” vulnerable.

And Elsa’s words sum up lack of vulnerability perfectly:
“Don’t let them in, don’t let them see
Be the good girl you always have to be
Conceal, don’t feel, put on a show
Make one wrong move and everyone will know”

I lack vulnerability when I think, “The gates are shut. my heart is numb. and the mask is on. I’m safe.”

And so, maybe, there’s a little bit of balance and a whole lot of discernment involved in this thing I’ll call “healthy vulnerability.”

And, God, please help me figure this thing out. Or even better, make me sensitive – vulnerable – to Your living Truth.

One thought on “explaining vulnerability to the 2nd grader in me

Leave a Reply

