Vulnerable – again

So the 2nd grader in me came back with a lot of questions.

Like: is vulnerability even the right word to be discussing?

What about honest, genuine, or real? Wouldn’t they do just fine?

Because who really wants to proclaim with vulnerability, “I might get hurt, but I’m going to do it anyway”?

//\\//\\//\\//

And you may be wondering (because I have too) why I’m so hung up on this. Why can’t I move past this and just do life?

My answer? [other than because I’m weird like that] Because this is life.

“Now this is eternal life: that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.” (emphasis mine) John 17:3, NIV

This knowing goes beyond facts and figures to a deep, intimate relationship. It’s where we become aware of what God values and desires. It’s where we bring our values and desires before God. all the while knowing that He may alter them or even completely crush them.

When we uncover a these hidden places and stand with weak knees before a holy God. {Is. 6:1-7}

IMG_8833-2[1]

This is life.

And this is vulnerability.

//\\\//\\//\\//

Sure, sometimes putting ourselves in a vulnerable place before people is just plain stupid.

Other times its unconditional, sacrificial, supernatural love.

God commands us to forgive as He forgave, confess our sins to one another, carry one another’s burdens, pray for one another, put other’s needs before our own, give without expecting anything in return, if possible be reconciled with one another, honor one another, and think of others more highly than we think of ourselves {and, yes, a few of our dreams and desires will get crushed along the way}.

This is love.

And this is vulnerability.

Jesus said the greatest commandment is to, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” Matthew 22: 37-40, NIV

So maybe the question isn’t, “Is it good to be vulnerable in this situation?” but “Is this the loving thing to do in the long run?” If it is, then Jesus commands me to do it (whether or not it requires vulnerability).

And, Jesus, You’re our ultimate example of love. unconditional, sacrificial, supernatural love. And You didn’t grab for the power and protection that was Yours. You laid that aside and put on the fullness of man’s vulnerability before God. The fullness of my vulnerability before God. You let the wrath of God against my sin trample You deep into the earth.

 And You conquered. And You rose. And You are victorious.

And You command us to love like You loved; so that people will be sent searching for the Source of this unconditional, sacrificial, supernatural love. so that Your name will be glorified {Phil 2:1-11}.

“Come out of hiding you’re safe here with Me
There’s no need to cover what I already see
You’ve got your reasons, but I hold your peace
You’ve been on lockdown, and I hold the key

‘Cause I loved you before you knew what was love
I saw it all, still I chose the cross
You were the one that I was thinking of
When I rose from the grave

Now rid of the shackles, My victory is yours
I tore the veil for you to come close
There’s no reason to stand at a distance anymore
You’re not far from home”

Out of Hiding (Father’s Song), Steffany Gretzinger & Amanda Cook

[photography by Julianna Elizabeth Photography]

Leave a Reply

