soul hungry

Sometimes you don’t realize how hungry your soul is until you’re around those who’ve made nourishing their soul as essential as feeding their body.

They’ve made it that essential. ‘Cause we can let our souls starve for a while … but we’d be walking around like limp and weak spiritual zombies.

But the ones who’re spiritually flourishing are the ones who saw with how dead they were and how starved they will be if they ignore the Sustainer of Life. they know and admit that they can’t sustain themselves … that they are needy.

And I leave them with an ache in my soul. And I hated that ache.

I hated it because it would wake me up to my own hunger and send me frantically searching for something to fill the emptiness and I sure didn’t go with the most nourishing options.

Why is it that when our souls are shaking from hunger we go for whatever is most readily available try to ease the ache?

And why is it that what’s often most readily available to us is less than nourishing?

Lindsey's - light; life; growth
PC: Lindsey Slough

 

The thing is I have a huge role in what I make readily available to myself. And I’ve got to prepare for those desperate times by making nourishing and wholesome options available right at my finger tips.

“I have stored up your word in my heart,
    that I might not sin against you.

(emphasis mine) Ps. 119:11, ESV

So when I’m left with an aching soul, I can to run for the nourishing food that I’m learning to make readily available. to view those times when deep inside I’m shaking from spiritual hunger as invitations to spend time with the Sustainer of Life. to see those wildernesses in life when nourishing soul food seems scarce, as opportunities to trust that in savoring the Word of Life I have more than enough.

“And you shall remember the whole way that the Lord your God has led you these forty years in the wilderness, that he might humble you, testing you to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep his commandments or not. And he humbled you and let you hunger and fed you with manna, which you did not know, nor did your fathers know, that he might make you know that man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord.” Deuteronomy 8:2,3, ESV

God, [long hesitation as I know what I’ve got to write …] make me know my neediness. and never lose sight of it. humble me. let me hunger. let me see my need to be fed by You. help me fill my heart with Your Word. because in those wildernesses and times of soul aching, whatever is readily available in my heart is what I’m gonna feed my soul. and I don’t want to live with a limp soul, but one that is full of life … Your Word is life.

You are life.

“‘As the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so whoever feeds on me, he also will live because of me. 58 This is the bread that came down from heaven, not like the bread the fathers ate, and died. Whoever feeds on this bread will live forever.’”  (emphasis mine) John 6:57-58, ESV

{and FYI I wrote the draft of this post over a month ago, and, yeah, God has been faithful to, and I pray He continues to, make me know more of my neediness and more of my need to feed on God’s Word … on Jesus – John 1:1}

Leave a Reply

