But when I ask …

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God … and the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth … and from his fullness we have al received grace upon grace.” John 1:1, 14, 16, ESV

And I am pursued. Pursued by this God Who left heaven’s glory to enter this broken world to make me His own.

And it continues everyday – this grace-filled pursuit.

But when I ask “why bother?” there’s no sweet list of compliments. No praise for my personality or character. No thanks for all I’ve done for Him.

No. His reply is simple, yet baffles me.

“I ‘bother’ because I love you.”

I was dead, unable to love and He loved me.

I ran. He pursued. He won.

Lindsey's - loved; center
pc: Lindsey Slough

 

Amazing grace is that He still pursues me and is faithful to never stop. I don’t have to worry that He will lose interest, because He loved me fully when I was repulsive to Him. I don’t have to worry He’ll get distracted or forget because He can’t. I don’t have to worry about not meeting up to His expectations because He bent down to meet me in my helplessness. I don’t have to worry that He’ll give up on me in my wandering because He is faithful. always faithful.

The lengths He takes to be in a healthy relationship with me are beyond my comprehension.

And for now, I just stop and marvel at what He left and what He came to.

At this pursuit fueled not by reason, but by Love.

{this song captures this all so well ❤ }

2 thoughts on “But when I ask …

  1. Isn’t it so reassuring to know that He won’t give up on us, no matter how many mistakes we might make? A verse that really drove that point home for me is John 6:37. “All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away.” Like you said, He is faithful…always. Psalm 9:10 – “Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.”

Leave a Reply

