Never move on

Our chains our gone and we’ve been set free.

To be rid of a life dominating sense guilt from the past and fear of the future is no small thing.

Yet there’s been times when I’ve found myself “moving on” from the pure amazement of the freeing work God has done in me. As if that’s a thing of the past I need only keep far back in my mind for good old times sake.

It sounds pretty pathetic and ungrateful written out like that. But really that is what it is: pathetic and ungrateful. For me to have the desire to move on and, for the most part, forget the faithful work of God in bringing me to Himself …

image

God, I’m sorry. I’ve slowly let things get in between us. I made little excuses. I replaced prayers that Your will be done with thoughts of my own concerns and desires. I gradually gave into distractions during time that was designated to be spent attentively in Your presence – in Your Word. I got out of the habit of going to You first with both thanksgiving and worries.

And at some point – it was probably a gradual thing – I began to look at You, God, for what You could give me rather than worship You for Who You are. I have not given You the whole hearted devotion You deserve. I’m sorry.

I never will be able to give You all of me without Your strength. Without You changing me from the inside, making my desires line up with Yours. Enable me to find practical ways to set my mind on lasting things – things that will actually last with me into the eternal life You have gifted me with (Col. 2:2-3). To be in a continual conversation with You through ongoing prayer (1 Thess. 5:17). To treasure Truth in my heart so that what flows out would be in line with how You designed me to live (Ps. 119:11; Lk. 6:45). And to use this freedom You have given me as a motivation and opportunity to love others as You love them (Gal. 5:13).

May this be a new start, God. Be my all.

 

Leave a Reply

